There are numerous benefits of being an independent contractor in California. These include being able to choose where they work, when they work and how much to charge. Basically they are their own bosses which means much more flexibility than if they were employees. Being an independent contractor, however, also has a number of disadvantages, and one is that they are not protected in the same way other workers are.
New mothers in Santa Barbara probably have a lot of questions as they return to the work force. For instance, what are the rules regarding nursing breaks in the workplace? The United States Department of Labor strives to answer these questions, so you can be fully aware of your rights, as well as your employer's responsibilities.
To help manage labor, ease scheduling headaches or to appease the needs of workers, some employers in California schedule 12-hour shifts. Employees need to understand what the rules are in regard to overtime, as they may not be eligible depending on the occupation or type of work. Working long shifts can also be detrimental in certain aspects, so workers should understand the risks before agreeing to 12-hour work days.
If you live in California and are considering being an independent contractor (IC) it is important you understand what it means. While there are distinct benefits to this employment classification, there are also some downfalls. For some workers it is a great arrangement, while for others being an employee may be the better fit.
We have given various examples of employee rights violations, but wage violations can be especially tough for many workers. Whether someone is living from one paycheck to another and struggling to make ends meet or a hard-working employee cannot pay the child support they owe, each worker's situation is different. Unfortunately, many workers are taken advantage of and in this post, we will analyze some of the ways in which denied overtime occurs.
If minors want to work in California, there are federal and state rules that regulate how many hours they can work, school attendance, restricted occupations and wages. Employers who do not follow these laws are subject to civil and criminal penalties.
Employers in California are required by law to give their employees breaks, the quantity and length determined by the number of hours they are on duty. These laws apply to nonexempt employees only. If workers are not being given these breaks, the employer is required to compensate them monetarily.
Unlike in many states, tipped employees in California enjoy the same minimum wage as all other employees. Many of these workers still often receive tips or gratuities, and there are specific laws regarding these tips that help protect the employee.
After being hired by a California employer, they inform you that you will not be paid the state's minimum wage of $11.00 per hour for the first few weeks of your employment while you undergo training and on-boarding. Your first response may be dismay, and your second response may be to instinctively say that it is illegal. But is it actually illegal? Are there ever any circumstances where an employer may pay you less than minimum wage and still be compliant with state and federal labor law?
You have had a busy year with your California employer, and did not use all of your vacation time. Perhaps you simply did not have time, or perhaps you chose to save up your vacation time to use to take a more extended vacation later. But the end of the year is approaching, and your employer has informed you that if you do not use your vacation time now you may lose it once the year rolls over. Is your employer legally allowed to cancel out your unused vacation time at the end of the year?